Our Committees

When it comes to assessing the applications we receive for our grants, our process includes a detailed review by an assessment committee. That group reviews applications and recommends projects and funding allocations.

Each assessment committee - and there is a separate one for each grant program - has representatives from the FRRR Board of Directors and the FRRR team. Additionally, we seek representatives from our donors and where possible an externally recognised subject matter expert. This ensures impartiality and often brings relevant local or sector-specific knowledge to the assessment process.

We acknowledge the support of the following people in 2012/13, who together with our Board, voluntarily contribute their time and expertise to our assessment panels or other committees, including Finance and Audit:

  • Jane Archbold, community representative
  • Dr Wendy Craik AM, former FRRR Board Member
  • Jessica Freame, Regional Development Victoria, Fire Recovery Unit
  • Andrea Gordon, community representative
  • Mary Harney, Gardiner Foundation
  • Charmaine Harris, VBAF
  • Dr Chris Healy, disaster recovery expert
  • Dan Hirst, ABC Heywire
  • Anne Leadbeater, community disaster recovery expert
  • Bruce Lloyd, former Federal Member for McEwen
  • Alice Macdougall, Special Counsel, Herbert Smith Freehills
  • Tania Motton, GM, Regional Business Banking, ANZ
  • Michael O’Neill, CEO National Seniors
  • Prue Pateras, Board youth representative
  • Dr Wendy Scaife, QUT philanthropy specialist
  • Kate Randall, Gardiner Foundation
  • Zoe Williams, Heywire youth representative